Literary Outlets for Environmental Writing

We’ve compiled a list of publications devoted in large part to eco-literature — essays, articles, short stories, poetry. Last updated on August 3, 2023.

To be notified when new publications are added to the list, subscribe to our monthly newsletter:

  1. About Place Journal (www.aboutplacejournal.org)
  2. African Conservation Telegraph (https://conbio.org/groups/sections/africa/act)
  3. Alluvian (www.alluvian.space)
  4. Alterity (www.alteritystudies.org/alterity-journal)
  5. Among Animals (An anthology series from Ashland Creek Press)
  6. Anabiosis Press (www.anabiosispress.org)
  7. Antennae (www.antennae.org.uk)
  8. Anthropocene Magazine (www.anthropocenemagazine.org)
  9. Anthroposphere: The Oxford Climate Review (www.anthroposphere.co.uk)
  10. Art after Nature (a forthcoming book series)
  11. Artis Natura (www.artisnatura.com)
  12. Ashland Creek Press (www.ashlandcreekpress.com)
  13. Camas (www.umt.edu/camas)
  14. Canary (www.hippocketpress.com/canary)
  15. Caught by the River (www.caughtbytheriver.net)
  16. Center for Humans and Nature (www.humansandnature.org)
  17. Channel (www.channelmag.org)
  18. Cirque: A Literary Journal for the North Pacific Rim (www.cirquejournal.com)
  19. Claw & Blossom (clawandblossom.com)
  20. Cold Mountain Review (www.coldmountainreview.org)
  21. Dark Mountain (https://dark-mountain.net)
  22. Deep Wild Journal (www.deepwildjournal.com)
  23. Dragonfly.eco (www.dragonfly.eco)
  24. Ecocene: Cappadocia Journal of Environmental Humanities  (www.ecocene.kapadokya.edu.tr)
  25. EcoHustler (www.ecohustler.co.uk)
  26. Ecological Citizen (www.ecologicalcitizen.net)
  27. EcoTheo (www.ecotheo.org)
  28. Ecotone (www.ecotonemagazine.org)
  29. Ecozon@: European Journal of Literature, Culture and Environment (www.ecozona.eu)
  30. Edge Effects (https://edgeeffects.net)
  31. Elsewhere (www.elsewhere-journal.com)
  32. Elementum (www.elementumjournal.com)
  33. Emagazine (www.emagazine.com)
  34. Emergence Magazine (www.emergencemagazine.org)
  35. Environmental Humanities (https://read.dukeupress.edu/environmental-humanities)
  36. Epizootics (www.epizooticszine.wordpress.com)
  37. Ferns: The Graduate Journal on Environmental Stewardship (www.fernsjournal.com)
  38. Flycatcher (www.flycatcherjournal.org)
  39. Flyway (www.flywayjournal.org)
  40. Gaia Lit (https://gaialit.weebly.com)
  41. Green Letters: Studies in Ecocriticism (www.tandfonline.com/loi/rgrl20)
  42. Grist (www.grist.org)
  43. Newly Added: Hakai Magazine (www.hakaimagazine.com)
  44. High Country News (www.hcn.org)
  45. Newly Added: Honeyguide Magazine (www.honeyguidemag.com)
  46. Humana Obscura (www.humanaobscura.com)
  47. ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment (www.asle.org/research-write/isle-journal)
  48. Journal of Critical Animal Studies (http://journalforcriticalanimalstudies.org)
  49. Journal of Sustainability Education (www.journalofsustainabilityeducation.com)
  50. Kelp Journal (www.kelpjournal.com)
  51. Kosmos Journal (www.kosmosjournal.org)
  52. Liminal Spaces (www.liminalspacesmagazine.com)
  53. Literary Veganism: An Online Journal (www.litvegan.net)
  54. Mānoa: A Pacific Journal of International Writing (https://manoa.hawaii.edu/manoajournal)
  55. Media + Environment (https://mediaenviron.org)
  56. Newfound (www.newfoundjournal.org)
  57. Northern Woodlands Magazine (www.northernwoodlands.org)
  58. ON Nature (www.onnaturemagazine.com)
  59. Orion Magazine (www.orionmagazine.org)
  60. Otherness: Essays and Stories (www.otherness.dk/journal)
  61. Paperbark Literary Magazine (www.paperbarkmag.org)
  62. Peaceful Dumpling (www.peacefuldumpling.com)
  63. Permaculture Magazine (www.permaculture.co.uk)
  64. Plant-Human Quarterly (www.otherwisecollective.com)
  65. Plants & Poetry Journal (www.plantsandpoetry.org/journal)
  66. Poecology (www.poecology.org)
  67. Punt Volat (www.puntvolatlit.com)
  68. Places Journal (www.placesjournal.org)
  69. Plumwood Mountain: An Australian Journal of Ecopoetry and Ecopoetics (www.plumwoodmountain.com)
  70. Reckoning (www.reckoning.press)
  71. Resilience: A Journal of the Environmental Humanities (www.resiliencejournal.org)
  72. Resurgence & Ecologist (www.resurgence.org)
  73. Saltfront: Studies in Human Habit(at) (www.saltfront.org)
  74. Sierra Magazine (www.sierramagazine.org)
  75. Sloth: A Journal of Emerging Voices in Human-Animal Studies (For undergraduate students: www.animalsandsociety.org/pages/sloth)
  76. Snowy Egret (www.snowyegret.net)
  77. Solarpunk Magazine (www.solarpunkmagazine.com)
  78. Stonecoast Review (www.stonecoastreview.org)
  79. Stonecrop Review (www.stonecropreview.com)
  80. Terrain (www.terrain.org)
  81. The Clearing (www.littletoller.co.uk/the-clearing)
  82. Columbia Insight (www.columbiainsight.org)
  83. TELLŪS | Letteratura, Ecologia, Paesaggio (in Italian) (www.zestletteraturasostenibile.com)
  84. The Common (www.thecommononline.org)
  85. The Curlew (www.the-curlew.com)
  86. The Fourth River (www.thefourthriver.com)
  87. Newly Added: The Future Fire (www.futurefire.net)
  88. The Goose (http://scholars.wlu.ca/thegoose)
  89. The Hopper (www.hoppermag.org)
  90. The Journal of Wild Culture (www.wildculture.com)
  91. The Learned Pig (www.thelearnedpig.org)
  92. The Plant-Human Quarterly (https://otherwisecollective.com)
  93. The Siskiyou Prize for New Environmental Literature (www.siskiyouprize.com)
  94. The Tiger Moth Review (www.thetigermothreview.com)
  95. The Trumpeter: (http://trumpeter.athabascau.ca/index.php/trumpet)
  96. The Willowherb Review (www.willowherbreview.com)
  97. Tiny Seed Literary Journal (www.tinyseedjournal.com)
  98. Trace: A Journal of Writing, Media and Ecology (www.tracejournal.net)
  99. Whole Terrain (www.wholeterrain.com)
  100. Wild Hope Magazine (www.wildhope.org)
  101. Wild Roof Journal (wildroofjournal.com)
  102. Words for the Wild (www.wordsforthewild.co.uk)
  103. Writers on the Range (www.writersontherange.org)
  104. Newly Added: Zygote Quarterly (www.zqjournal.org)

If we’ve missed something, please let us know.

The journals below have ceased publication (to the best of our knowledge) but we hold out hope for a return:

  1. Animal: A Beast of a Literary Magazine (www.animalliterarymagazine.com)
  2. Humanamalia (www.depauw.edu/site/humanimalia)
  3. Gull (www.gullzine.com)
  4. Kudzu House Quarterly (www.kudzuhouse.org)
  5. Matador Review (www.matadorreview.com)
  6. Sinking City (www.sinkingcitylitmag.com)
  7. The Bear Deluxe (www.orlo.org)
  8. The Island Review (www.theislandreview.com)
  9. Windfall: A Journal of Poetry and Place (www.windfalljournal.com)
  10. Zoomorphic (www.zoomorphic.net)
 
 
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00