Literary Outlets for Environmental Writing

We’ve been compiling a list of publications devoted in large part to eco-literature — essays, articles, short stories, poetry.

Here’s a running list:

  1. Alluvian (www.alluvian.space)
  2. Alterity (www.alteritystudies.org/alterity-journal)
  3. Among Animals (An anthology series from Ashland Creek Press)
  4. Anabiosis Press (www.anabiosispress.org)
  5. Animal: A Beast of a Literary Magazine (www.animalliterarymagazine.com)
  6. Antennae (www.antennae.org.uk)
  7. Art after Nature (a forthcoming book series)
  8. Artis Natura (www.artisnatura.com)
  9. Ashland Creek Press (www.ashlandcreekpress.com)
  10. Camas (www.umt.edu/camas)
  11. Canary (www.hippocketpress.com/canary)
  12. City Creatures Blog (Center for Humans and Nature: www.humansandnature.org/blog)
  13. Cold Mountain Review (www.coldmountainreview.org)
  14. EcoHustler (www.ecohustler.co.uk)
  15. Ecozon@: European Journal of Literature, Culture and Environment (www.ecozona.eu)
  16. Ecotone (www.ecotonemagazine.org)
  17. Emergence Magazine (www.emergencemagazine.org)
  18. Epizootics (www.epizooticszine.wordpress.com)
  19. Flycatcher (www.flycatcherjournal.org)
  20. Flyway (www.flywayjournal.org)
  21. Green Letters: Studies in Ecocriticism (www.tandfonline.com/loi/rgrl20)
  22. Gull (www.gullzine.com)
  23. ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment (www.asle.org/research-write/isle-journal)
  24. Journal of Sustainability Education (www.journalofsustainabilityeducation.com)
  25. High Country News (www.hcn.org)
  26. Humanamalia (www.depauw.edu/site/humanimalia)
  27. Kudzu House Quarterly (www.kudzuhouse.org)
  28. Matador Review (www.matadorreview.com)
  29. Newfound (www.newfoundjournal.org)
  30. Northern Woodlands Magazine (www.northernwoodlands.org)
  31. Orion Magazine (www.orionmagazine.org)
  32. Otherness: Essays and Stories (www.otherness.dk/journal)
  33. Poecology (www.poecology.org)
  34. Reckoning (www.reckoning.press)
  35. Saltfront: Studies in Human Habit(at) (www.saltfront.org)
  36. New: Sinking City (www.sinkingcitylitmag.com)
  37. Sloth: A Journal of Emerging Voices in Human-Animal Studies (For undergraduate students: www.animalsandsociety.org/pages/sloth)
  38. Snowy Egret (www.snowyegret.net)
  39. Stonecoast Review (www.stonecoastreview.org)
  40. Terrain (www.terrain.org)
  41. New: The Clearing (www.littletoller.co.uk/the-clearing)
  42. The Common (www.thecommononline.org)
  43. The Fourth River (fourthriver.chatham.edu)
  44. The Goose (http://scholars.wlu.ca/thegoose)
  45. The Hopper (www.hoppermag.org)
  46. Whole Terrain (www.wholeterrain.com)
  47. New: Wild Hope Magazine (www.wildhope.org)
  48. Zoomorphic (www.zoomorphic.net)

If we’ve missed something, please let us know.